Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie here so if I am asking a question that has been beaten to death, be easy on me. :D

I'm in the middle of installing JBA ceramic shorties 1619S-1JT and came to the part where the dipstick tube is wedged between the block and the header. I have the tube all the way in, but I'm not real keen on having the tube touching the header. I read others have the issue but can't seem to find how they got around it.

When I bend the tube around to a point about 3/4" rearward where there is more room, the tube goes on the rearward side of the middle spark plug but looks like it will interfere with plug removal in the future. Also the tube bracket that connect to the head is way off and the tube still touches the header. Something else would need to be done to secure the tube (more work) to the head or elsewhere.

I called JBA and the guy at Tech service first said squeeze the tube some. I told him the header was wrapped too tight to the block and pinches the tube...then he said he never did an install and didn't know what I was talking about....then said to call JBA Racing.

The guy at JBA Racing said he hasn't installed on the V6 Stang and the guy that had, wasn't there. I told both these service dudes the Tube should not be touching the header. They just talked about possibly bending the tube but couldn't tell me where it should end up. (Sorry for the long story, just want ya'll to know I've been beating my head trying to figure this out on my own)

If someone could provide some direction on the tube placement or to where I can find the info, it would be appreciated.

Thanks much

·
Banned
12,435 Posts