Ford Mustang Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 2004 Mustang GT with a manual transmission. I am new to all of this and I was wondering if anyone can give me some advice on where to start with performance parts and all. I plan to do drag races on 1/4 of a mile and 1/8 of a mile strips.

·
Banned
1,344 Posts
Absolutely. Hope you get lots of response. If I post my advice, that'll trigger 6 guys describing how it's all wrong, which is healthy.

Get two M-T ET Street 26-10.5-17 DOT bias ply drag tires. Mount them on someone's castoff curb-ding 17-inch Bullitt, GT, or Cobra R wheels. Install an aftermarket shifter - I swear by the Pro 5.0, but the MGW is the new hot thing. Next, get a stand-alone shift light and install it just under the lip of the dash. Use it to not use too high a shift RPM and to make it so you never take your eyes off downtrack. Running on the stock tires will be frustrating. Hence, my advice.

Do a line-lock after running the above for a season. Until then, learn how to foot-brake burnout (and abuse your rear brakes, but that's life). Track time is the most important thing. You'll be way ahead if you optimize your car and you before doing mods like exhaust, intake, and gears etc.

Things like the above have my 2003 Mach 1 running 12.50s/12.60s in good air and winning a drag trophy or two a year, and I still haven't modified the stock exhaust from full factory cats and the rest of it. 4.30 gears and a 58 year old's lack of fear of breaking things helps. Now, let's see what others say.

Race often, race cheap.

·
Banned
3,705 Posts
You can get as nutty as your budget will allow. Start with giving us a dollar amount you can work with.

At the very least: Gears and get rid of the stock LCA's.

·
Registered
207 Posts
sub frame connectors, gears, short throw shifter, sticky tires, control arms

·
Registered
193 Posts
Is it going to be a track only? or is it going to be a street strip?