Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the 3v Mustangs. I just recently purchased a JLT CAI from a friend of mine. I was told by a local performance shop that said it is better to run the car with the JLT without a tune because it will lean out the car a little on motor. Now this local shop is reputable and trust them. I would like to know how true this is, also would it mess up anything on the car. I recently purchased my 08 GT this past Wednesday. Today is Friday and wanted to race my car. IF the car needs a tune I can wait and purchase HP Tuners for it.
Thanks. Any feedback i appreciate it.

·
Premium Member
1965 Mustang coupe
72,878 Posts
No way... It'll lean it out to the point you get a check engine light. it needs a tune!

·
Registered
5,023 Posts
Yeah, JLT strongly recommends a tune and plus you'll benefit more from the tune and CAI than you would with just the CAI alone.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
K. Thanks. Also what do you think about HP Tuners, I know recently they can program the 05+ Mustang GTs. Im familiar with them tuning LS1s.

·
Registered
179 Posts
SCT supplies great tunes but hard to use as compared to HP Tuner. I've had both at the same time. SCT is sold!

·
Registered
1,161 Posts
I've used the HP Tuners stuff on GM engines, and it is a good tuning program. However, with them releasing the Ford stuff so recently, there are no modified tunes in their tune repository as yet, only stock tunes.

·
Registered
1,652 Posts
I was told by a local performance shop that said it is better to run the car with the JLT without a tune because it will lean out the car a little on motor. Now this local shop is reputable and trust them.