Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm new to all this. I just got (my first car) a 2005 Mustang V6. Nothing fancy, but by far the nicest car at my school. I love cars, and I know a little about them, but not a lot. My question is this, why is my hand brake only coming up maybe three inches? It feels extremely difficult to engage, and is a pain to disengage. Is this normal, or is it just because it's an automatic? I know on a few of our family vehicles that are manuals, the hand brake comes up a lot farther. Please, any help is greatly appreciated!!

·
Registered
344 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
I would bet what you're feeling is normal. A properly adjusted e-brake should only come up several "clicks" remember that this brake is not assisted by any hydraulics like your regular brakes are. You are pulling against a spring. Once engaged, you now have to pull against that tension to disengage the brake. Much like shfting a car out of park when it's on an incline.

·
Registered
11,864 Posts
I would bet what you're feeling is normal. A properly adjusted e-brake should only come up several "clicks" remember that this brake is not assisted by any hydraulics like your regular brakes are. You are pulling against a spring. Once engaged, you now have to pull against that tension to disengage the brake. Much like shfting a car out of park when it's on an incline.
welcome to the forums. i agree, sounds like the rear brake pads are in good shape, the cables arent stretched and the e brake is working good. :) if the brake seems real loose, could be stretched cables or wore out rear brakes, pads or rotors or both( or drums and shoes)

·
Registered
66 Posts
First off, congrats on your first car! My mustang is my first car as well and it is definitely the coolest car on the lot at school! As for your ebrake, mine is the exact same way. I assumed it was because the previous owner never used it, so it wasn't worn out.

·