Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I hope I added this to the right section, I'm still learning the forum bear with me please.

Sometime last year I had my factory clutch basically shred to pieces on me @ around 50k miles. I opted for the Spec Stage III to replace it and allowed my family friend mechanic to install it. (My first mistake) I also went ahead and bought the MGW short throw shifter and had him throw that in as well.
Before the original clutch went bad everything was great. The car shifted extremely smooth and made virtually no noise at all. So I expected w/ the money I was spending it would be a dream once everything was installed. Unfortunately I got just the opposite.

As soon as I drove I noticed some very bad signs.

Literally the only thing replaced in the Transmission was the clutch. (Not the fly wheel or the Slave cylinder/ throw out bearing)

There was some confusion here as the tech at Spec had no advice and my mechanic seemed to think my factory stuff was fine so I put my trust in him and just did the clutch.

Ever since it is extremely hard to get into gear especially gears 1/2 and reverse. The pedal feels great no difference really from the factory feel.
My first issue was a severe vibration and after having to go out and pay someone else to reballance my driveshaft (I'm posotive it was abused in the friends shop) (dropped)

What bothers me most aside from the difficulty engageing gears is that,

When I engage first gear and start to let out the clutch and the car starts to go it lets out a distinct metal on metal squeal sound it's only for a quick second usually but it can and has been pretty loud at times.

This also happens when I down shift from Gear 3 to gear 2 or 2 to 1,It lets out the same sound as above.

I have ABSOLUTELY no doubt it is coming from the bell housing area and is directly related to the transmission/clutch itself.

My question is this;