Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my bbk cai will be here tomorrow for my 2008 mustang gt and i'll be installing it soon. i got it from brenspeed with an xcal 3. any advice in avoiding pitfalls / things to look out for in the installation would be appreciated. this is the first time i've modded any vehicle that i have owned. so i'm a newbie with this. thanks in advance y'all.

·
Premium Member
1965 Mustang coupe
72,878 Posts
Welcome to AFM... It's really easy. The stock airbox/tube comes off pretty easy and the new assembly will go on without much trouble. Just make sure you double check all of your connections and make sure the MAF sensor is seated properly and the harness connected.

We're here if you have any issues!

·
Registered
2,636 Posts
haha its to easy trust me on that. :) that is the only mod I actually did on my car...

Wait I did my old strut tower brace as well but I took that off lol

·
Registered
8 Posts
I also installed a BBK CAI on my 06 Mustang GT. A few days later I got a CEL. BBK boosts that no flash is required with thier CAI. Any ideas? Anyone? Before I return it to stock.

·
Premium Member
1965 Mustang coupe
72,878 Posts
I also installed a BBK CAI on my 06 Mustang GT. A few days later I got a CEL. BBK boosts that no flash is required with thier CAI. Any ideas? Anyone? Before I return it to stock.
The BBK is so close in design to the C&L that I find the 'no-tune' claim to be a stretch. I think a custom tune would be in order.

·
Registered
597 Posts
I have the BBK cai and run it without a tune. So far it seems to work just fine and the engine light has not come on.

·
Premium Member
1965 Mustang coupe
72,878 Posts
I have the BBK cai and run it without a tune. So far it seems to work just fine and the engine light has not come on.
There is so much variation in these cars that it's tough to tell how these parts are going to react.

·
Registered