Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone out there added an CIA to a GT/CS and notice any difference. I am new to all this and it seems to me that on the CS has a pretty good box already, it's big and right on the fender wall with the silencer right there in the fender well. Will I be wasting money Adding a CIA.

·
Premium Member
1965 Mustang coupe
72,878 Posts
You will still see a considerable improvement with an intake. The air tube is very restrictive.

·
Registered
12,664 Posts
CAI is one of the best bang for your buck mod you can get for an S197 mustang. You will also need a re-tune for 99% of them

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks guys, stuff like this is what I need answered.

·
Registered
160 Posts
Go for it. Easily one of the best first mods.

·
Registered
1,809 Posts
+1 on the CAI first, although a gear change would also help noticeably on "quickness" off the line: however, it's not the cheapest "power" (actually, "quickness") upgrade; depending on who does the install, you're probably looking at $300 and up PLUS the cost of the gearsthemselves, which maybe another $200 +; then there's always the potential hassle of the install not going right and your having to go back to get it re-done.

·
Registered
4,137 Posts
CAI and tune is a must. You will notice a difference right away.

·
Registered
10 Posts
What CAI is the best for the Mustang?Should you go Ford or Roush,Or something like KN,There is a big difference in price.

·
Registered
1,809 Posts
+1 on the JLT: if you shop it you can get the kit and SCTX3 for just over $500 (I can't recall where now but it's out there).

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have a 2008 GT/CS, and I added the BBK CAI a month after I got it. I noticed the difference IMMEDIATELY. I have not tuned it yet (was waiting to get my throttle body and headers installed). Definitely worth it.

·
Registered
83 Posts