Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I have previously owned a Mazdaspeed6 which had a nice Bose system, and a Scion TC release series which had an even better Pioneer system. Now we come to my new Mustang..UGH, Bar none the WORST stereo ive ever heard in a modern car.

Over the next six months or so I will be upgrading, I have never upgraded a stereo before, I don't want to just take it to a shop, I want to research and pick out the components myself. Heres where im at.

1. Speakers (I will Install)
2. head unit. Do I need?
3. Amp and sub in trunk (audio shop install)

Im a newbie and need some advice on brands, and pricing. How much should I be paying for quality? Ive seen speakers from 20 to 120 dollars. Head units, amps and subs are all over.

pioneer, Bose, alpine? I want crisp, clear sound with balanced bass, but I also wanna be able to crank the bass ocassionally.

What order should I install? What do I need to install speakers myself?(ex harnesses, brackets, wiring etc..)

Thanks

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
558 Posts
The door speakers are stupid easy to replace. It really depends on if you want to keep the stock look or go aftermarket way. I wanted to keep stock look so I got the jbl ms-8 and hooked it up and it sounds great. Also amped my door speakers

Sent from my Autoguide iPad app

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The door speakers are stupid easy to replace. It really depends on if you want to keep the stock look or go aftermarket way. I wanted to keep stock look so I got the jbl ms-8 and hooked it up and it sounds great. Also amped my door speakers

Sent from my Autoguide iPad app
I will just keep the stock look. Easier that way. Will probly get the metra dash kit and a double din HU so that will be different enough. Do I need to do rear speakers? Are the front speakers on 13s same as 11s and 12s?? How much did you pay for your speakers?