Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm going to be installing some BMR LCA this weekend and I'm just wondering how you guys get the rear up?

I see a lot of people stressing NOT to lift using the Diff.

This is my first time lifting a vehicle and I'm just wondering what the proper way would be?

Can I use a floor jack to one side then place axle stand underneath one side of axle... then go to the other side and repeat for opposite side?? Or will I need two floor jacks to lift each side then place the stands under the rear axle?

Or does everyone just use the diff?

·
Registered
2,259 Posts
To do LCA's without a lift, you'll need to support the body of the car with jackstands and you'll need to support the weight of the diff with a jack. If you just remove the LCA's with the weight of the axle unsupported, or if the car is being supported with jackstands on the axle tubes, the axle and car will move and you the mounting points won't line up.

Be sure to torque with the suspension loaded.

·
Registered
714 Posts
You could back onto some rhino ramps in the rear, too. I installed my Steeda LCA's with the suspension fully loaded on a drive-on lift. It may actually be easier to install this way, the e-brake cable is mighty tight with the rear suspension at full droop.

·
Registered
1,651 Posts
I believe you can support rear axle with jackstands and replace the lca's. I usually jack the rear up from the pumpkin and using thick phonebook as a shim to distribute the load.

·
Registered
714 Posts
Jack stands would make me nervous. My LCA bolts took some serious effort to get loose. Maybe I'm just a pansy, but I could easily see the car rocking back and forth a lot on jack stands. I still say the ramps are probably worth the $50 investment.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #6