Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings..just bought a Deaschwerks DW400 and when my GT warms up I can hardly start my car. My mechanic saids it is defective: however, DW tech support claims I need their wiring kit because the fuel pump pulls 16-20 amps. I bought the wiring kit and plan to have my shop install it this Friday. Does anyone have simuular experinces? The u tubers show the DW 400 install but don't mention having to hard wire the DW 400.

·
Super Moderator
2,261 Posts
Welcome to ALLFORDMUSTANGS!
Please read the Site Rules and be sure to complete your account details.
We’re glad you’ve joined us.

Reactions: 5.0 Coyote

·
Super Moderator
7,818 Posts
Welcome to the forums from Texas.

In reply to your question; no. I have no experience with DW400 pumps. What caused you to install one?

According to the web, an in line check valve might be needed for easy starts. So if the wiring harness does not solve the issue, you might need to look at the check valve as a possible issue.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited by Moderator)

In reply to your question; no. I have no experience with DW400 pumps. What caused you to install one? Down the road I plan to supercharge. I upgraded my coil packs and replaced the OME spark plugs w NGK platums. DW 400 fuel pump rocks when it works- the front end comes up when i sept on it. rear needs wider tires. already stiffing up the chasis BMR and Steeda bushings, k member frames, diff-bracing,DSS shaft, MGW shifter, Roush Level 1 tune, etc..

According to the web, an in line check valve might be needed for easy starts. So if the wiring harness does not solve the issue, you might need to look at the check valve as a possible issue.