Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to modding cars and I was just wondering if you need a tune with new gears.

·
Registered
28 Posts
from what I understand you only need a retune to correct the speedometer

·
Registered
183 Posts
AdamZx3 said:
from what I understand you only need a retune to correct the speedometer
That is correct. I would not address the speedo if you plan to do a performance tune later (i.e. CIA, S/C, etc.). You can do both then and save some money rather than getting a handheld tuner for just this change.

·
Registered
191 Posts
he is right....i put em in and waited till my mods were done like offroad x-pipe,cold air and stuff like that then have it tuned on a dyno with an o2 sensor in the exhaust so you can adjust for the air fuel mix and fix the gears at the same time....money well spent............:cool:

·
Registered
6 Posts
More Info?

Wanting a little more info on a gear change. Everyone seems to be saying 4.10's. I wanted to know what exactly is changed with these? Do you simply have to shift earlier as the rpm's ramp up more quickly?

·
Registered
599 Posts
Yes,.......not a bad way to describe it.......but the real advantage is the greater torque multiplication. I.E. Hang on tight cause mother really pulls now!!!:eyepoppin

·
Registered
335 Posts
Go with the 4.10 gears, and use the Ford parts. This is the best mod you can do, regardless of whether you go with any power adders. It totally transforms the car. At 70mph in 5th, you only turn 2500 RPM. To correct the speedo, you have to own a Predator or SCT handheld anyway for these cars. Why would you want to drive around with the wrong speedo reading? It bothered me the one day I drove the car before I got around to adjusting it.

·
Registered
6 Posts
boss377 said: