Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a 2.3L Mustang LX convertible. I am dropping a 5.0L in there this summer. Now the style of racing i like is drag racing. I have been asking around for a couple of years and I have not gotten a straight answer. Which is better? Twin-Turbo or a Super Charger? Here's the catch. I want my car to be able to do the 1/4 mile as fast a possible. I found a Super charger calculator online. Running a stock 302 with factory HP with 108 octane, 20 psi supercharger and a 3 core intercooler. I would be pumping around 500 Hp (in theory). Now with performance upgrades to the engine alone bring the engine to an est. 435 HP with the same octane, boost and cooler setup...I pump our around 975 HP. That's without a cold air intake and NOS system. Which I figure (a guess) an easy 1000+ HP. All in theory. Now i don't know what the turbo can get me at. Between the Turbocharger and supercharger... Which will get me to do the 1/4 mile the fastest? All input is welcome. Thanks :bigthumbsup.

P.S. I am also trying to find a body kit for the same car that won't make it look stupid/ridiculous/ retarded/ etc. Any links or suggestions welcome also. Thank you. :bigthumbsup

The link i used was http://www.superchargersonline.com/hp_calculator.asp

·
Registered
113 Posts
that 20 psi SC will give you 300 hp? just saying the stock 302 maybe has 190-210 hp

·
Registered
154 Posts
I would beef up the short block with forged rods and dished pistons before boosting the engine. I would think a turbo would make lots of power and put less strain in the engine because it doesn't run a drive belt. Then again I'd like to see a killer 2.3 boosted and nitroed out pounding the quarter mile with 600 horses!!!

·
Registered
1,652 Posts
Please don't use a stock block, or stock anything, heck using a stock Mustang shell is pushing it.