Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I am new to building engines so this forum is great.
I do not have a Mustang but I have a 5.0 302 that according to the block # came out of a 87' truck. The motor is stock and the rods have the 5/16 bolts that everyone talks about. My question is, will those bolts hold up to 300 hp? I plan on using aftermarket heads with about a 10:to 1 comp ratio. I am on a major budget and dont want to have to buy ARP bolts and risize the rods if I dont have to. Any help is GREATLY app. (P.S. motor is going in a 95 Ford Ranger in the near future but since its a 5.0 Im glad I can talk to you guys)

·
Registered
1,171 Posts
Depends on your use. 300hp from a 302 isn't much; stock parts can easily handle those power levels.

RPM's put more stress on the rod bolts that power level does. If you're going to run a solid cam with rpm's consistantly > 6,000, then upgrade the bolts. If not, the stockers will be fine.

Your current bolts are 13 years old. If they have a lot of miles on them, get new ones.

·
Registered
608 Posts
Funny you should ask...

I just snapped a puny stock Ford rod bolt assembling my bottom end about a week ago. I'd say bite the bullet and get the ARP's, they are like $70 shipped from summit and have a machine shop press them in and resize the rods.

I am a college student and on a wicked budget too. But after al lthe time and effort you put into the motor, it would suck to have a rod bolt let go turning 4500 and destroy everything you've built. Trust me, I cringed at the thought of going to the machine shop again, But now I know that there is not way that those rod bolts will break.

That's just my opinion

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
many questions

Do you see any problems with my plans of the following. ( My goal is to have a daily driver that sounds fun and has around 300 - 350 hp.)