Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a 1990 5.0 LX, and I'm wondering if anyone can suggest some sort of ram air intake through the hood. Cervinis makes two "hood and kit" products, but they look a bit odd in my opinion. I'm still considering the "Stormin Norman" kit, because they said that it's basically the same as their other kit, except with a little cowl induction at the back. I've seen ram air hoods and separate scoops, but does that mean that I'd have to fabricate something that'll direct the air into the intake? I've always thought that those huge scoops are for carburated engines. Anyway, I'm a bit new to all of this stuff. I researched a bit about cowl induction, but it appears that no one really knows how it works.:tongue I've seen a couple different responses along the lines of the engine bringing in colder air and the cowl working as a vacuum. Anywho, I really like the idea of ram air, but I'd rather not get the March thinggy.

·
Registered
398 Posts
if you don't plan on adding a power adder.....the cervini's would be an awesome way to go.......if you plan on poweradding down the road, just buy a cold air kit for now.......

hotwheels of insanemustangs.com

·
Registered
551 Posts
As far as ram air through the hood, as far as I know, you're basically looking at Cervinis or maybe this
I was considering the shaker, but I'm not sure how it'd work with the cars lines, and I havent been able to find a wider angle picture yet. Not to mention that its just adding more kinks and turns to the induction track.

And yes, big hood scoops are notmally for carbed cars, or carbed with a roots blower.