Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm New here so I'll try to keep this simple and maybe get some help. I'm no mechanic by far but growing up, I was a "daddy's girl" so I learned a few things about engines and how they somewhat work. Any way, a few weeks back I traded my Chevy Avalanche 5.3 V8 for a 35th anniversary edition 99 mustang 3.8l V6 w/ 121504 miles on it cause I was thinking with gas prices being as they are, surely i'd do better with a smaller engine and gas tank. Was told it had a new clutch, pressure plates and throw out bearing and shifted good except for the squeal that what stop if i applyed slight pressure to the clutch. Ran great for about 4 days or so and I realized after filling my tank up, I only had 1/4th left and only driven167 miles. Then I noticed white smoke whenever i'd crank the car and black if I reved it up so i changed my air filter, checked the coolant and oil, which I had to add 2 quarts of and let it sit over night to cool so i could repeat the process in the morning. Same thing except this time my service engine light came on and would start flashing while I was driving. Took it by O'Reilly's to have tested and it read misfire on 1&3 so i bought plugs and wires and changed them, which was not fun by the way, cranked right up and still smoke but light was off. Next day, same thing, light on, white smoke. Took PCV off, cleaned it. Took EGR off, cleaned it, glad I did, it was bad clogged. Sanded it down and painted, yes I painted it. Lol (Rustolium High Heat Black) at this point I may have 200 miles on it and have had to add $10 in gas. so again, light off drive a little bit, car starts loosing horse power, light back on so back to O'REILLY's I go. Misfiring1&3 again so this time I put a coil pack, check my firing order to make sure the wires are in the correct position, cranks a little better but still loosing horsepower, spitting and sputtering, can't run AC so i call