Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The alternator on my 66 Mustang is not working. I just got done taking it out and i noticed that there were no wires coming off the stator connector. Is that a problem? I am rather new to fixing stuff myself. Also i am trying to figure out how many Amps it is. I have looked it over and i do not see any indicators. It is a Motorcraft and it says 13 on it. Thats it. Any help is appreciated, thanks. Incase you need to know, my engine is the 200 CID.

·
Registered
10 Posts
There should be wires coming from the starter soleniod, regulator, and a ground wire that connect to the alternator.

Are there any wires at all? Does the car start when you give it a jump, but when you shut the car off it won't start again?

Some tests you could do to see if its a bad alternator is when the cars running hook a voltage meter to the battery. If it reads less then 14 its a bad alternetor. If you dont have a tester when the car is running take the positive wire off the battery if it dies the alternator is bad.

When messing with electrical it could turn into a nightmare. Alternator is bad, and when you try to start it the battry keeps draining.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Also amp wise you might have a 40 amp alternator. Thats what my 68 had, and as far as i knew it was stock. If yours is bad i would take it to a shop, and have them put better diods in it to beef up the Amps.

I had mine beefed up to a 90 amp, and when i hooked up my MSD box. As soon as i started i blew the alternator again, andthe regulator. Now its a 120 amp, and i have the regulator right on the back of the alternator. Its not original, but i got tired of blowing the alternators all the time.

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #6