Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am about ready to buy a new heater core and go through that whole adventure. I know both copper and aluminum heater cores are available. I am wondering if anyone has any solid experience with which material would be more durable and worth it. I have my eye on an aluminum core from LRS, but if the price is similar for copper Id like to get the most durable of the two. Thanks anyone who can lend their experience. PS- Its been a while but I seem to think theres a sort of coolant softener to slow the electrolite corrosion or whatever causes antifreeze to eat aluminum and metals. Thanks again fellow Mustang people:yelpleased:

·
Registered
1,456 Posts
I'd go with the copper one myself, as a mechanic I see lots of junk aluminum cooling system parts, but the copper ones seem to be a lot more durable.

Do you have Air Conditioning or not? If not, then changing the heater core only takes about half an hour, I did mine on my lunch break at work. If you do have A/C, then you're looking at a seriously big job.

I've never heard of anything like a cooling system additive you described, other than maybe just good ol' water wetter additive that Redline or Royal Purple make. I wouldn't bother with that though, just use a 50/50 mix of water and antifreeze and change it every other year.

The trick is to use pure distilled water that you buy at the store, not tap water that contains chlorine and minerals that cause deposits.

·
Registered
1,171 Posts
Copper is heavier, more durable, and transfers heat better. It's usually a little cheaper, too.

I have heard of the water treatment, but it's nothing special. Last one I saw was from Prestone. You'll find it on the shelf in Pep Boys or wherever.

I also like to use a surfactant in the coolant; like Redline Water Wetter or Royal Purple Purple Ice. It's cheap, and makes the system just a little bit more efficient.

·
Registered