Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am at the very end of the t5 swap on my fox. However there is a problem. The car will not start by the turn of the key. We can start across the sylnoid but not by the key. All the pedals are in and the safety switches plugs are in, black in the front grey in the back. We dont know about the wiring on the tranny though. Can anybody help us out?

·
Registered
912 Posts
if you jump the switch can you start it?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How do we jump the switch? Or do so properly?

·
Registered
35 Posts
I'm not a mechanic but from experience I'd say it may be the shifter switch wiring from the aod. You know the start only in park switch. good luck

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Are you talking about the black one that went to the aod shifter? that is still attached to the column and ran through the dash. Does it need to be hooked up somewhere? We have reverse lights now but still no start.

·
Registered
5,170 Posts
Yeah, kinda sorta. Issue is there is a difference between a T-5 Trans Harness and a Auto. Basically a small jumper wire is installed in the T-5 harness to allow start signal to reach the clutch switch, and on to the Starter Relay. If you look at the trans harness, you will need to jumper the white/purple(or pinkish) wire to the red/blue wire. White/pink comes from the ingition switch, and its what triggers the starter relay.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Okay 89coupe i did what you said and the car still will not turn over. I have the plugs into the clutch safety switch with the black plug closest to the steering column and then the grey plug behind it is this wrong? what else could it be?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
There is also a green and an orange wire underneath the car attached above where the speedo cable goes into the tranny i think.

·
Registered
5,170 Posts