Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two autolite/motorcraft 2100 carbs.

Number 1: year 1967, 1.14 with 50F jets (my original carb)

Number 2: year 1973, 1.08 with 47F jets

Both have just been rebuild with the same kind of rebuild kit, but carb number 1 bogs down on acceleration and causes the engine to knock on hard acceleration.

Carb number 2 runs great, no problems

What could be the cause of the problems with carb nr 1?

a 50F jet will gives a more rich mixture than a 47F, right?
(yes, I'm new at carbs :winks )

·
Registered
96 Posts
Well, the first carb is set richer, so my best guess would be clogged/inop power valve, or clogged accelerator pump

·
Registered
1,472 Posts
Make sure the accelerating pump is working right. Also, the knocking is more likely a timing issue. If the accelerating pump is working right, I'd back off the timing a degree or two and see how it runs like that. Also, what engines are you running them on?

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Make sure the accelerating pump is working right. Also, the knocking is more likely a timing issue. If the accelerating pump is working right, I'd back off the timing a degree or two and see how it runs like that. Also, what engines are you running them on?
I can see a accelerator pump shot in each barrel, when activating the throttle. I'll disassemble carb nr 1 again tomorrow and have a look at the accelerating pump and power valve.

I've tried the two carbs on the same stock 289 C engine without changing timing, which is set to 6 degrees initial, with a stock points distributor.

·
Registered
8,022 Posts