Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm changing my front calipers on my 1968 Mustang. Do I have to bleed the back wheel cylinders as well. I have a dual bowl master cylinder. I don't think any air would get into the rear brakes but I'm no mechanic so I'm must looking for some advice.

thanks

·
Registered
503 Posts
Yupp you should be fine not bleeding the back. The only reason you would have to bleed them is if you're changing the wheel cylinders or rear brake lines. Since you aren't, the rear brake lines and cylinders are all still full of fluid with no air.

make sure you bleed the new front ones good tho :bigthumbsup

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
That is why everyone should switch to a dual bowl master. If you lose pressure or fluid in one, the other will still allow you to stop because it is independent.

Good Luck and BE Safe
Ron

·
Registered
38 Posts