Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a novice for sure when it comes to automobiles, but I love them and I want to learn as much as I can, is installing CAI and a tuner a good DIY project for a novice? From what I've heard it is very simple, if not how much labor and time would it cost if I took it too a shop? And also I've heard it will give as little as 5 hp to as much as 20 from friends but I'd rather get that info from you guys :shigrin

Thanks so much!

- Joel

·
Registered
3,122 Posts
Joel, it's EASY to Install a CAI, all you need is a Screwdriver for the Clamps and a Hex Screwdriver for the MAF Sensor and a socket to remove your Factory Air Box.
You can do it:bigthumbsupJust follow the simple Instructions provided with your CAI, you could have it on in 20 minutes to a Half Hour.
As for the Tuner you just plug it in under your Dash in to the OB Computer and follow the Instructions on the Hand Held Tuners Screen.
Doing it yourself is the Besy way, that way you know how to do it and the learning experience is for your own good, paying a Shop to do it is throwing Money out the Window, it's so easy even a cave man can do it:gringreen
If you go with a JLT CAI and Tuner Combo from AM and get your Free Tunes for Life:bigthumbsup that Combo will give you about 20 more HP. But the added HP is'nt what you'll really notice, what you'll notice the most is Instant Throttle Response, you touch the Gas and it's right there, no lag, you just go. And the Shifts are Fast and Firm, no drawn out shifts inbetween gears. It'll feel like a totally different car, you'll absolutely Love It:bigthumbsup
Good Luck and Hope this Helped.

·
Registered
128 Posts