Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats cams could anyone suggest to give more midrange and topend. Something streetable ,semi smooth idle and still run stock springs if possible. Running short tube BBKs, C&L CAI, stock cats with Ford Racing Xpipe splice,Brenspeed tune.

·
Premium Member
72,878 Posts
Comp Cams STAGE 2 XFI™ VSR (Valve Springs Required) is a very good cam. I've been running it for about 8 months with no problems.

·
Premium Member
72,878 Posts
I thought you had the stage 3?
They redesignated their cams. They used to have 4 stages but now only 3 and the stage 3's now require a cam phaser limiter. I have the 127300s which we all used to call stage 3's but comp now calls them a stage 2.

·
Registered
1,161 Posts
Gotcha. The new limiters might make for some more interesting cams coming out soon. Especially with more lift.

·
Registered
1,161 Posts
That looks promising, and tempting. Although the approximate $1800+ in parts could be hard to justify.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks for the info. Tried the LTs and high flow cats but emission issues a hassle.Thought I'd try cams.

·
Premium Member
72,878 Posts
That looks promising, and tempting. Although the approximate $1800+ in parts could be hard to justify.
It really isn't cheap. I'm toying with the idea of adding the phaser limiters to my setup. I don't want to run into any piston to valve clearance problems in the event I lose oil pressure.

·
Registered
137 Posts
grrrrrrrrrrrrrr this entire s197 cam thing is gettin' on my nerves!!! l want a freakin' set for my car soooo bad, i dont want to replace springs or retainers if i dont have to, i want decent power with a noticable idle. im going to go CRAZY

·
Registered
2,636 Posts
just get laugh gas. These cars can handle a 100 shot no problem and just have 3 tunes :) street tune, pump gas w/juice and then 3rd one race fuel w/juice.