Ford Mustang Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks. Hope you can help me. As mentioned in the past, this is my first Mustang so I'm kinda new to all things classic Fords. I just pulled and swapped the engine in my '66. Nothing fancy, 200 CI straight 6 came out, a rebuilt 200 CI straight 6 went in. I fired her up, no issues. She sounds beautiful.

However, check out the pic. When I went to connect the throttle/accelerator cable to the new carb, I am short a couple of inches. I've used throttle linkage kits in the past, but I can't seem to find anything to work on this 200? Because of the cable bracket, I can't move the cable to the right.

That said, am I going to have to get a whole new accelerator cable and re-do the whole thing? Or does anyone know of a good kit/solution for this problem? Any custom/homemade remedies? I'm not showing the car or anything like that, so the fix just needs to work. Aesthetics don't matter to me as long as it is safe.
Motor vehicle Vehicle Automotive exterior Automotive air manifold Gas
Appreciate the help.

·
Registered
1967 Mercury Cougar XR7
2,990 Posts
I'm not asking to be mean, but why not use the original linkage? It's very simple and super effective! The original pedal and setup should be cheaper than a cable pull setup, and will last virtually forever too.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Haha. No offense taken. I am using the original setup. However I had to change the carburetor and on this new engine which is from a Comet for some reason it does not fit.

·
Registered
1967 Mercury Cougar XR7
2,990 Posts
Your original setup is cable-pull!? I thought all of these used a rod and the pedal had a long arm coming up the firewall to move it? It should work, regardless of what carb spacer or whatnot you've got!

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·