Ford Mustang Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey im considering building up a 87-93 block to drop into my 67 coupe. I am new to the mechanic scene, im 24 and this is my first muscle car. Any way i was looking at stroking/stroking kits and they're extremely expensive for me right now. While i was researching I wondered if i could throw a 5.4 crank into a 5.0 block and come out with a 5.0 stroked to 5.4? Would this work? It'd only cost 300 dolla. Insight, wisdom, suggestions, links to material. Please and thank you.

·
Registered
212 Posts
Look at coasthigh.com for stroker kits at a decent price

·
Registered
212 Posts
And A 5.4 crank would not work in your block

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
You could find a decent 351 windsor and put some GT40 heads (with bolt holes machined to 1/2") on it. With a decent intake, carb, cam and exhaust you could probably clear 350 hp I would think. It will, for the most part, drop right in where a 302 goes as they are very close to the same size. I'd venture to say you would be in it for less money...and have more cubes and torque.

I built a 351w for my first motor swap instead of messing with the 302. With the heads, cam, intake, and exhaust on a 10+ compression motor...it was estimated to be in the 500hp range @ flywheel. It ran pretty good...still have it in my shop. lol. I have the shortblock, plus some gt40 heads.

·
Registered
233 Posts
building a stroker motor isnt cheap by any means. I started my "budget" 347 stroker build a few months ago, $4000 later, im still NOT done. I have to buy a few more things and finally drop it in. If your looking to save cost i would also suggest a 351 swap.

·
Registered
653 Posts