Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to this whole car thing, I lived in a city and public transit was my main for years, I know absolutely nothing, but my Older Brother went off to Iraq in the Army and left me his 1969 Mustang.
I don't know much else about it or even how to tell the things about it.
I have a lot of questions but for starters:

How do I tell what kind of mustang it is?

I was asked if it is an "R" series, what does this mean?

it has an original engine but how do I know what type it is?

it mentioned there is a "Marti report" in it somewhere. what is that?

I didn't take care of it for a year and the floorboard are now rusting, is that hard/expensive to fix?

Thank you for any help and or advice you can give me, I'll be on here often and I am taking some classes so I can have a better understanding and do some work myself. I'll load some pictures when I can.

·
Registered
2,913 Posts
Hello MyFirstRodeo,
First - - welome to the forums. This is a great place to learn.

I will try to answer some of your questions:

1. - You will learn the different models in time. It could be a coupe, fastback, could be a grande or perhaps a Mach 1. Basically if the rear window slants down and is a little long - it it a fastback. They made several models of fastbacks.
Look on the dash near the glove compartment and see if it has a plate that says grande or Mach. Also on the front fenders it may say what the style is. If it si a MAch 1 - -it will have stripes if original. If you post a picture we will help

You can also determine the body style from the vehicle numbers on the plate. The plate is located on the dash close to the window or on the door where it opens - -if it is still there.