Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
551 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, this may be silly, (and longish) but I have limited experience with clutches and associated hardware.
Background: I replaced the tranny and clutch about a year+ ago, before we moved. Since then, everythings been ok, clutch engaugement started a few inches off the bottom of the pedal. When I did the replacement, I also installed a steeda quadrant and firewall adjuster.
Yesterday morning, at work, I get into the car, and the clutch pedal is swinging free. Apparently the cable came loose from the quad (was on the first, i.e. farthest from firewall, hook. )
After investigation, the cable was apparently very loose, and this apparently happened sometime overnight!?!
I hooked it back up, and was able to pull about half an inch of slack out at the adjuster. I opened the adjuster up to compensate for it, and was able to drive the car, but the clutch was engauging just a few inches from the top.
I got the car home, and started playing with the adjustment. I tried hooking it to the back hook (closest to the firewall, per steedas website instructions[it did not specify when I bought the parts]) that left virtually no clutch movement, even with the adaptor all the way out. So I put it back on the front hook, and tried to readjust. No luck. I then completly unhooked it on the dash end, checked the condition of the cable as well as I could, and hooked it back up.
This time, for some reason, I didn't have to crank the adjuster out nearly as far, to tighten it up, but the car still seems to start to grab too "high" on the pedal travel.
I can't see how it could stretch "overnight", and am kinda worried that this might be a precursor to the cable letting go.