Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, I'm stumped. I'm a newbie and I'm learning as I go. I'm one of those "read it in a book and do it" kind of learners. So I've been working really hard and tonight I pulled the 289 and 4 speed toploader out of my 1967 Coupe. I'm quite proud of myself. However, after separating the tranny and engine and realized I needed to also remove the clutch (duh, just sort of slipped my mind). I'm planning on taking the engine into the machine shop tomorrow for a sweet deal on a rebuild and they prefer it a long block, so I obviously need to get the clutch off. I'm also taking the transmission in to another shop to be rebuilt at the same time.

Here's the catch: I know absolutely nothing about clutches. I understand how they work, for the most part. But how do I get this thing off? My guidebooks are not being very helpful as not a single one mentions removal of the clutch. I have one book that talks through how to remove a clutch for replacement purposes, but it's just not making sense to me. Do I need to worry about marking the alignment since they are just going to be repainting the engine anyway? How do I get it back installed without knowing how it was aligned? I'm pretty sure I can figure out how to UNinstall the thing, but I'm worried about getting it RE-installed. Also... how can I tell if any parts of the clutch need replaced? It looks really good. The pressure plate still looks almost new and the clutch is just slightly brown from rust, but everything looks really good.

Newbie needs help!

·
Registered
825 Posts