Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 Mustang GT with 147,000 miles and a manual tranny. Two days ago, my car began to sputter really bad unless over 2000 RPM. I figured it was condensation in my fuel lines because that has happened before. But today the CEL came on throwing a "cylinder 8 misfire" code. I had the same code a few months back, replaced the spark plugs no problem, but in the spark plug holes there was anti-freeze. I knew my intake must of had a crack, so I saw this coming. I just want to make sure I am not thinking of anything else besides the obvious (spark plugs, COPs, fuel filter, etc), I know all that. This just frustrates me because on my old Mustang, I had this same issue and spent over $400 trying to fix it, but i ended up selling it without ever finding a solution. I am just beginning to lose faith in Mustangs as good, stable cars. I love them, but it's hard to love something that doesn't love you back. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
1,575 Posts
Well, obviously if your intake has a crack you have to replace it. The anti-freeze is coming from somewhere, so finding the root of the problem and fixing/replacing it should fix this. Your car does have a lot of miles on it, and since Mustangs tend to be driven harder than regular cars, you can only expect to encounter things here and there that needs to be fixed. I'm no expert, but shouldn't a compression test tell you if there are any leaks anywhere?

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My Dad and I have attempted to run compression test before, but we were never able to get it hooked up right because the only two at the auto parts store around here were faulty. So I've given up on compression tests after 2 trips to autozone and 3 hours wasted trying. I just wanted to make sure replacing the manifold is a likely reason for the coolant leaks.

·
Registered
6,859 Posts
+1 on DJAlsip.