Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The cams arrived Friday afternoon at about 3:00 and I had them in at 8:00. 5 hour install...not too bad considering I've never worked on a 4.6 before. I did change plugs last week so I was somewhat familiar with the engine but that was it. Ok, I used to be an auto mechanic but the last time I turned wrenches professionally was in 1997.

The install went pretty smoothly. No surprises at all. It helps to have good instructions and the proper tools.

I'm still waiting for the tune from Brenspeed. It should be here on Tuesday. I still have the Bama 91 race tune in. I haven't driven the car yet but it does seem to run well. I'll take it for a drive later on today.

The only glitch I noticed is the CD changer is acting up after having the battery disconnected. You can here it cycling through all the CDs and when it stops it says "CD ERROR". Maybe I'll have to disconnect the battery again. If nothing else, it's still under warranty !

Sometime in the next month or two I'll have it dynoed and see how much, if any, I've gained.

·
Registered
1,412 Posts
Cams

I picked up a nice gain with these cams. I will say this after starting it up let it grab the idle before you take off. The RPM's will as you know are higher at start up and let it settle and when it starts to lope your fine. When the weather got cooler it just liked the little warm up before taking off. The thing I like about these Cams is how smooth they are for a Rough Idle Cam and Brenspeed is great to deal with. Congrats and enjoy and keep us posted. Can not wait to get home and hit the open road in my Mustang.

T Wayne in Iraq

·
Registered
412 Posts
How are you going to pass emmissions in Cali with those?

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
How are you going to pass emissions in Cali with those?