Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a college student on a tight budget and the wiring harness in my mustang has more dead ends than I can count. I have countless problems getting my stereo, heater, and wipers to work and once one is fixed the others fail. Wires also constantly fall off the fuse box so I need an upgrade.

The two major brands Ive found online are american autowire and painless performance. These seem pricey and I wanted to hear from you all in terms of other brands or which one is worth the money. Although Im on a tight budget I would rather save money to buy the best product and do it right the first time.

Anything on wiring in general, especially personal experiences is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Tim

·
Registered
831 Posts
You don't have to buy an entire harness. You can get just the under-dash harness which includes a new fuse panel. That is what I did when I did my restoration. I'll do a quick search and see if I can find a part number for what I got.

·
Registered
831 Posts
Damn, prices sure have gone up since I got my stuff. Anyway, check this link out.

Main Dash

·
Registered
454 Posts
For the same price you could go the Painless harness that will wire the whole car. If you just do the dash kit you still have all the old wiring in the rest of the car. Both have their advantages, but if it was me, I'd go with the Painless and rewire the whole car with new stuff.

·
Registered
1,791 Posts