Ford Mustang Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm getting ready to remove my front suspension K-member on my 2002 GT. Is where I have the chains attached OK (the chain closest to the passenger-side is NOT attached to a water pump bolt; it's attached to a timing cover bolt)? I've never used an engine lift/support, before.

FYI - the chains aren't going to be supporting the entire weight of the engine by themselves. The engine is still bolted to the transmission, and I'll have a floor jack supporting the bellhousing, too.

Hood Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive design Tire

Motor vehicle Bicycle part Automotive tire Bicycle chain Bicycle tire

Hood Product Automotive tire Silver Automotive lighting

·
Registered
368 Posts
When I had a 82 Zephyr (Fox suspension) with a 460/C-6 and changed the front crossmember, actually removed it several times, just put jack stands on the front most frame just behind the wheel wells and then wooden blocks on the engine oilpan. It'll support the weight on a SBF. Works on the weight of a BBF.

Attachments

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Drivers side looks OK but i would move the pass side out more to even things out
Thanks; maybe I'll do that when I'm home, next (tractor-trailer driver).

When I had a 82 Zephyr (Fox suspension) with a 460/C-6 and changed the front crossmember, actually removed it several times, just put jack stands on the front most frame just behind the wheel wells and then wooden blocks on the engine oilpan. It'll support the weight on a SBF. Works on the weight of a BBF.