Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
I’ve got a 2011 GT with 120k miles that I just brought in and am told I’ll need an engine. It’s running but knocking. I’m at a crossroads. $5k or so seems to be what I can find a reman’d engine for and options for used aren’t turning up anything much lower than that to be worth not having the warranty. Add labor costs, as I’m no mechanic, and this would be a lot to throw into an older but still otherwise very nice Brembo GT. I’d been planning to sell soon for something newer again before this but now I’m not sure on it’s best value. Sell as is? Fix and sell? Fix and keep a while longer?
Thoughts are welcome/appreciated.

·
Registered
24 Posts
So my Nephew and I were having a similar question a couple of weeks back. He has a 2010 Altima he is still paying off. The car is worth about $2500, he owes ~$2500 and the transmission is failing, so it needs about $3000 in repairs. If he were to sell the car as is, he might get a $1000, but he still needs to pay off the loan. And he wants a mustang in the next 6 months to a year. I think the advice I gave him might apply here as well.

Sometimes life throws us curve balls and we cannot get what we want. I am not sure what you mean by 'soon' but if you replace the motor, you need to see if you can get your money back in the long run. A quick price check on line with KBB, shows me a value of ~$10.5-13.5K for your car (made some assumptions). In the current shape, you are looking at (in my area) $3K for the car as is.

Other question to consider:
1. Does the car need any other work?
2. Considering the amount of time you expect to keep the car, in those miles, do you expect to need to do anything else? Brakes, tires etc ...
3. Do you owe any money on the car still?

If I could answer 'no' to those questions, and I had the means to pay for it, I would put the new motor in the mustang.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3