Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I know the first scheduled maintenance based on the manual is 10,000 miles.

But I read some where to do an oil change/tire rotation at 500 miles? If not 500, when should the first oil change/rotation occur? 3000? 5000? or stick to the 10K?

Thanks - if you havent noticed yet I am a newb to all these newer mechanics things! It was pretty cut and drive back in the days where oil was changed every 3-5K and and first service was always at 500 miles.

·
Registered
411 Posts

But I read some where to do an oil change/tire rotation at 500 miles? If not 500, when should the first oil change/rotation occur? 3000? 5000? or stick to the 10K?

Thanks - if you havent noticed yet I am a newb to all these newer mechanics things! It was pretty cut and drive back in the days where oil was changed every 3-5K and and first service was always at 500 miles.
I did mine first at 2000 miles and had the guy set the sticker for another 7500. I think 10k is too far in between changes even if thats what the manual says.

·
Registered
112 Posts
im sticking to every 5000 just to be safe. cant hurt if you change it to often. :gringreen:gringreen:gringreen:gringreen

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
you guys rotate tires at 5K or 10K?

·
Banned
1,345 Posts
Rotate the tires when you can first tell the fronts' outer shoulder is rounding off compared to the rears'. Then adopt that mileage as the rotation interval. For most of us, that comes sometime past 5000, e.g., 7000. It's not necessary to hit it perfewctly regularly, either. Doing rotation at ALL means you'll be superior to almost every normal driver...

·
Registered
510 Posts
I will be doing my first oil and filter at 1000 despite the service center at my dealer assuring me 4k is the proper first intrval. After that I'm not sure yet- how accurate is the oil life indicator?

·
Registered
85 Posts