Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just looking for a general discussion, not a manual vs. automatic flame fest! Please keep this in mind.

I'm incredibly close to ordering a Mustang for the first time, but I'm still torn between the transmissions. I had a 2011 V6 before (hail storm) that was an automatic and I absolutely loved it, but I'm seriously considering a drastic change via switching to a stick shift this time around.

I've learned how to handle a manual just recently by driving the cars of my incredibly trusting friends. The problem is I'm still not a professional or natural by any means.

My question is: Do you think it's safe for me to order a manual with novice experience? In my defense I was able to drive a 5.0 from one dealership to the other over a five mile span. Although I did stall a few times! ;)

My biggest fear is that I'll royally screw the vehicle up. It will be my daily driver, just as my previous one was.

·
Registered
914 Posts
Just go for it. I learned how to drive a manual in my car on the way home from the dealer haha. took me weeks to perfect it.

·
Registered
205 Posts
I bought my '85 Celica convertible with manual transmission two years ago, and after having a friend trailer it home I taught myself by gettng in and going.

I enjoy driving the stick Celica so much I ordered my 2012 Mustang GT convertible with a manual transmission!

Go for it, you won't regret it!

·
Registered
1,451 Posts
If you know you'll be able to do it than go for it but, if your unsure of yourself than maybe you shouldn't. I only drove something with a manual transmission about 5 times in my life before I ordered my car, it took a couple weeks to get used to, but now whenever I drive an auto it feels like I should be doing something when slowing down lol.

·
Registered
680 Posts