Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im taking my 99 cobra to the track friday and its my first time and was wondering what would be a good launch rpm and where to shift and any estimates of what I might run, thanks

·
Banned
12,435 Posts
you running drag radials or slicks? If it's just the radials, you can launch around 3000 and shift at the redline...as hot as it is in AZ this time of the year you'll be lucky to break 14

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've got the nitto 555's and that's what I was afraid of. Would a cold air intake make any noticeable difference?

·
Registered
147 Posts
it will make a little difference in your 1/4 time. but not a substantial amount. of course every HP makes some difference. If this is your first time at the strip,I would say 14.20-14.80 Depending on your launch and shifting abilities.

·
Registered
2,288 Posts
I'm by no means a drag racing expert. I've been to the track a few times and have learned a few things. Get there early and let your car cool (ice on the manifold aint bad either). Air up the front tires above the norm to reduce rolling weight. Don't fill the tank before going (1/4 will be fine). Remove all non essentials like spare, jack, speaker box, tool box etc. On street tires you need to leave on the last light before the green. BLINK BLINK GO! GREEN. You will cut a decent light and not redlight. Have fun man!

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks everyone for the tips, im pretty decent at shifting so im hoping to do ok. My whole shop is goin and one of my supervisors has a n 05 gt with a programmer, think I have a chance?

·
Registered
2,288 Posts