Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
guys I changed. I do not want to turbocharge my mustang anymore. The stock one is way enough for a 17 years old boy. Instead, I will add modifications like a chip an tuner, a cold air intake, a camshaft, underdrive pulleys, throttle body, exhaust, mufflers, etc...
What would be my fuel consumption with these modifications ? They say on many websites that a 2001 mustang gt has an average of 18 mpg but that is on a stock mustang. I heard that a cold air intake gives your mustang a better fuel consumption but with the other modifications, what would be my fuel consumption ? More than 18 mpg or less than 18 mpg ?

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
it is important me me to know that because I am a student and the fuel consumption on my mustang will be important for me.

·
Registered
150 Posts
cai intake, tune, exhaust = +
cams = -
you'll need gears with cams = -

it'll probably even out if you can keep your foot off the gas. maybe 17ish ?

·
Registered
10,111 Posts
What are you getting for mileage now? The way you drive is the biggest factor and the mods won't change it much. (unless they change the way you drive due to the temptation factor)

In my experience it is easy to do better than the ratings . . . since I don't have the opportunity to go racing around all the time . . . I get low 20's (21-22 MPG) around town, mid-high 20's on my half-highway commute (about 27 MPG)

·
Registered
2,250 Posts
The way you drive is the biggest factor and the mods won't change it much.
That's 100% true.

OP: I told you before I got over 27 mpg with over 500 rwhp on the highway. But I hardly ever drive on the highway.

You can ask the question a million different times and ways but nobody here has ESP and will be able to tell you what fuel mileage you'll get in the future.