Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so I just replaced the fuel pump. Car started and then shut off. It does the same thing it did before I replaced the fuel pump, now though the fuel gauge stays at half a tank even with the key off.

Here is what the car does. Well it's act's a little different with the new pump.
Symptoms:
Car starts, runs for a few minutes and shuts off, sometimes it will restart and sometimes it will not start.

There is a drain on the battery, if I leave the battery cables on over night, when I get up the next morning the car battery is dead.( I don't have the first idea about the electrical for this car)

Airbag light stays on all of the time

Fuel gauge stays at half full with or without the key on.

I just bought this car and have not been able to drive it. Can someone please help me without being to technical? I am a rookie and don't have many tools.

Thanks
Sandra

·
Registered
708 Posts
It sounds like you need to find a good mechanic. Technical know how and tools are essential to diagnosing and repairing computer controlled cars with fuel injection.
Didn't you start a thread on your battery issues? You should have resolved that problem first unless you like disconnecting the battery every night to keep it from going dead.
And why did you replace the fuel pump? would the car not start?
You are going to find that replacing parts without proper diagnosis is going to cost you lots and may or may not fix the problem.

I am all for people learning to work on their own cars and I am not trying to sound like a azzhat but it seems like you are in over your head. Good Luck

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It sounds like you need to find a good mechanic. Technical know how and tools are essential to diagnosing and repairing computer controlled cars with fuel injection.