Ford Mustang Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
538 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering what type of fuel can be run in the old 289. I currently run premium unleaded, 91 oct. I was told i cant run unleaded fuel in this car until i change to hardend seats. Well ive been running unleaded fuel like this for 9 years now. The original manual states to run 94+ oct. That was stated when there was lead. I dont A) have 94 oct or B) leaded gas at the regular pump stations.

There are two stations in town that do sell a specialty 100 low lead and a 107 low lead premium fuel. Should i be running that type of fuel because it has lead in it? WOuld the extra oct damage the engine in anyway?

I have run this stuff in my 4.6L GT mustang but only mixed a gal or two in with the rest. (what a kick in the pants). But never knew if it did any damage or will do any damage to the engine.

Anyone runnig oct higher then 91?

·
Registered
2,914 Posts
Hello danielf,
I would not worry about the gas too much. I plan to put my Mach 1 (351C) on the road soon and plan to run high test.
I plan to occasionally add lead additive to the gas. Perhaps every few tanks.
This additive is available at parts stores like "Auto Zone".
As far as the seats, I agree we will need hardened seats someday but I don't think we need to jump to it. If/when I develop motor trouble requiring the heads to come off, I'll change the valves etc. For now enjoy the car, do what you have been doing and perhaps add some lead periodically.
In my opinion the higher octane won't hurt the motor but I think it would be throwing away money. 289's are a healthy motor and if you keep the oil changed they go for lots and lots of miles.

Just an opinion from an old back-yard mechanic......Print Dad

·
Registered
8,022 Posts
Do a forum search on octane, there are several threads already out there.