Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, im thinkin about swappin my gears, and NO this isnt a question on which ratio i should get!

i was wondering how difficult the process is, as i have never done this before. should i try to do it on my own? or should i break down and take it to a speed shop.

also, im pretty suer im going to 3.73s, but was wondering if this would put too much stress on my motor? its got about 128000 miles on it, but it runs really strong. just lookin for some opinions or experienced insight.

·
Registered
3 Posts
systronic said:
hey guys, im thinkin about swappin my gears, and NO this isnt a question on which ratio i should get!

i was wondering how difficult the process is, as i have never done this before. should i try to do it on my own? or should i break down and take it to a speed shop.

also, im pretty suer im going to 3.73s, but was wondering if this would put too much stress on my motor? its got about 128000 miles on it, but it runs really strong. just lookin for some opinions or experienced insight.
i said i wanted to do the same thing and the response i got was i should leave it to the pros. he told my driveshaft would need to be rebalanced and the tools alone would costmore than the install.

·
Registered
897 Posts
systronic and reese77, if you really want to know whats involved in swapping gears, check it out.

http://www.angelfire.com/theforce/5ohcpa/cpa5ohtech001.htm

You can then decide which option is best. As you will see it's not a "Remove, Replace & Torque" process, there are specifications that require the use of special measuring equipment. If any is not done as a shortcut, the noise the gears could end up with is a "whine X2" (one from the gears and one from the driver), and it becomes "permanent" after a 200-500 miles drive.....BTSTDT.... GL

·
Registered
103 Posts