Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks,

Why is it that you will sometimes hear a recommendation to stay with a relatively mellow gearing if your power-adder is a Turbo? I have no experience with power adders, but it seems to me that a nice set of 4.10s would be ideal when mated with a turbo. The gears for power down low, then the turbo kicks in up top. But reputable folks have recommended just the opposite, gear-wise. In fact, I have heard that our stock ratio is ideal. Why is this, and would this also apply to centrifugal blowers like the Vortech? And is this recommendation specific to drag racing?

I don't want to cripple myself from a dig...the idea of turbo lag and spool-up don't appeal to me, but on the other hand I love the idea of the turbo's efficiency and power. I'm trying to find the ideal balance of gears and power adder to get grunt all the way through the power band. I'm thinking either a Twin-screw with stock 3.55s, a centrifugal with 4.10s, or a Turbo with...?

·
Registered
2,139 Posts
Your going to have traction issues with steep gears and boosted applications.

It applys to superchargers and turbos.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Your going to have traction issues with steep gears and boosted applications.

It applys to superchargers and turbos.

Why? Got 3.55s, want to bolt in a set of 3.90 in my turbo, manual car. What problems can i expect under what conditions?

·
Registered
519 Posts
Turbos have 2 things to consider: higher torque than most superchargers, and less parasitic loss, so higher power overall. If you really look at the power and torque curves from a twin screw to a turbo, the increase in torque from 2k to 3k with the twin screw is not that extreme, so in all reality, the differences on the bottom end are minimal from turbo or centri to a twin screw. The bottom line is in either case you will have too much power in first and probably second with any short gear.