Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, well first off I'm a newb so forgive me. I'm 16 just got my license a couple months ago and I drive a bone stock 2000 V6 convertible 5-speed. So anyway I was sitting at the lunch table the other day and everyone was talking about racing. We go by cylinders on who races and there is just me and 1 other guy who have 6 cylinders. But let me run a background on this guy first. He's the guy who liked science in the first grade, the guy who thinks he knows everything bout everything. Basically a grade A nerd. He has a 2000-2003 Monte Carlo which he thinks is the best thing on the earth. So my friends asks him if he would race me. He says " No I wouldn't race him ,but if i did i would win". Now correct me if i'm wrong but doesn't the V6 stangs run bout 190 bhp and weigh round 3200. I dont know exactly what his cars got but i am pretty sure i can take him. Right?

·
Banned
1,069 Posts
If he has the base 3.4, 180 h.p. engine , you would smoke him !
But if he has the 3.8, 200 h.p. 225 lb.ft engine , he could give you a real problem , the 3.8 Monte is good for high 15`s stock !
So good luck if he ever races you , also be safe !

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
He has the 3.4 engine. I thought there would be no problem but you never know and trust me were safe, after school we just turn off onto a road thats about 1/16 and go. Thats all we have in my town besides cows.

·
Registered
491 Posts
Yup, the 3.4 is gravy, used to smoke them in my 89 Z24, the 3.8 is a little faster but used to walk them in the cavy also so a v6 stang should have no problem.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Haha my friend has a 98 z24 but it only has the 2.4 liter engine in it. Its still got a little go to it though. Yours had the 3.1 right? I wonder if he could take him.

·
Registered
491 Posts