Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
first off i just want to say you guys and gals *dunno if theres any here* are great:worship. ive been looking around for the best forum that is mustang related and found this one to be the best one out there, been following this place for months now. :smilie

ok to my question. i have a 2008 v6 s197, i was thinking of getting a pair of gt takeoffs and replacing the v6 muffler with a single gt takeoff, and saving the other one for later, if i do the dual conversion. will the gt takeoff reduce backpressure and make the car lose low end torque? reason im most likely not going dual right away is because im wodering if getting a dual set up with the gt takeoffs will reduce torque on the v6.

note the single gt takeoff would be the first mod i would be doing to the car. should i replace the v6 muffler with a single gt takeoff? sorry im new to all this modding thing.

thanks in advance. :worship:smilie

·
Registered
2,470 Posts
Any loss of torque is small. The stock V6 muffler is restrictive to say the least, first thing I noticed besides the rumble was a 2.5-3 MPG increase and a slight increase in power on acceleration.

·
Registered
3,122 Posts
I just put Duals on with the GT Take Off Mufflers and going from the Factory Stock Muffler to two GT Mufflers I did'nt notice any loss in power.