Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not sure if anyone deals with Hagerty or not, but I feel I need to share my experience with them.
I just bought a 64 1/2 which is in dire need of help. It's pretty rusted and needs new rear frame rails, new interior, and a ton of body work. Luckily the motor is in decent shape!
Anyway, I was shopping around for insurance.
Hagerty Insurance did not like the fact that I wouldn't always park the car in my garage. So I should weld in my garage? I'm sure my homeowners insurers would love that.
According to them, I wasn't to leave the car parked outside overnight, ever. They couldn't understand why anyone would purchase a collectible vehicle and not park it in a garage. I understand that, to a point.
They denied me because I wouldn't guarantee to park it indoors every night! I guess I could never stay at a hotel, or God forbid, visit a friend overnight.
Luckily I'm a veteran, have USAA, and got it insured for an additional 91 cents a month when added to my policy.
I just cannot believe how pompous the folks at Hagerty are.

·
Registered
8,022 Posts
They also won't insure your old cars unless you also own new ones. They turned me down since all 5 of my cars are over 20 years old.

Aren't they supposedly the old car insurers? Don't they 'encourage' you to drive your old cars? Yes, but just don't drive them very much.

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
The 2 car rule...the only place that would insure my Mustang is State Farm. (just regular ole insurance) The collector car company's requires you to own at least one other ride. One says the 2nd ride has to be at least 14 yrs old.

I only have the '66. Hopefully i will get another soon, but will it be less then 14 yrs old?? And if its 12, then i have to sell & buy a newer ride every so often. Dumb rule i say. :yup:

I tried USAA but didn't qualify for car insurance....could get life ins tho, they said.

·
Registered
3,104 Posts