Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone,

I'm a complete noob with wiring, so I was hoping you could help me out and sorry if I sound stupid.

My headlights and foglights weren't turning on, so I was wondering what was going on...

I was taking apart the dash anyways since I'm changing the color of my interior and found what you see in the attached image. As you can see the plug for the wiring harness is burn out and cracked. What could have caused this? What are my options now to fix it?

Also, I was about to put the negative battery cable back on the battery and as I went to do it, I got quite large sparks. This is caused by a large draw? Anyways, I'm pretty sure I didn't have any switches turned on etc...so I'm not sure why this was happening? Could it be related to the burnt out plug for the harness?

Thanks for the help guys.

Attachments

·
Registered
287 Posts
ok this is a common problem for 1987-1993 mustang gt's it is caused by running the foglights and headlights for extended periods of time.

On my 1988 mustang gt the foglights and headlights quit working all together. I bought an aftermarket headlight switch thinking that was my only problem (when I dug deeper my plug was half melted). I put the new switch in anyways and the headlights and foglights work. I'm going to still repair the harness when I get around to ordering it. I recommend late model restoration (they have fair prices and awesome customer service). They also sell a complete kit but it's over 200 and it has a turn signal switch included with a headlight/fog light switch and a repair harness. I would just get the repair harness and a new headlight foglight switch if it was me.

this is the repair harness you need:

1987-93 Mustang Headlight Switch Connector, Assembled With 6" Wiring Pigtail at LRS - Same Day Shipping!

headlight switch with fog lights