Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay so i did a rear brake job on my 04 stang about a month ago. I replaced the rotors and pads(pads were organic). ever since then i had a "squeal". it ticks me off and ive tried everything i can think of to fix it. I lubed and replaced the slide pins, upgraded to ceramic pads, even lubed where the pads fit in the caliper bracket. nothing. nothing at alllll has helped. please gimmie some good advice here, cuz this squeal is freakin p!ss'n me off. lol Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
142 Posts
may be a dumb question, but did you rotate the pistons on the calipers back before you put it back together? The first time I tried doing my brakes I didn't do so and I struggled to force the calipers back on the rotors and I had a squealing sound for a few weeks. Other than that, because I'm no expert, I'd take the rear brakes and calipers off, check the rotors for unnatural marks (or rubs, possibly even have them rotated if nothing works), and do the job over again.

I wish I could be more help

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i bought a caliper piston reset tool from summit racing for 60 bucks, and yes i rotated it back in. these ceramic pads dont seem to be squealing as much, but its still annoying because it comes and goes.

·
Registered
1,575 Posts