Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey AFM, Im new to the Ford Mustang community and to this website. I've had my 1999 Ford Mustang GT for about 3 years, I had a Honda prior that didnt last long so TECHNICALLY this is my first car. Like I was saying, I have had my 1999 Ford Mustang GT for about 3 years almost and it has been fairly good to me, only had a couple repairs. I was actually interested in looking for an easy to understand manual/book that actually could show me how to repair basic things such as alternator or stuff like that. Anyone know of any? Thanks for the help in advance.

·
Banned
3,705 Posts
Anything you want to repair or modify can be found on the internet with a google search and 15 spare minutes of your time.
I rebuilt a whole rear end, installed a supercharger, P&P'ed a TB/Plenum, fixed a leaking intake manifold gasket, installed headers, and about a ton of other crap in the last 9 months with no previous experience with wrenching on Mustangs. Search the web. Search this site. Search other forums. Buy a Chilton manual, or keep showing up here and ask questions, dude. There's no shortage of info on how to fix these cars.

:bigthumbsup

-RAbbit

·
Registered
5,329 Posts
Welcome. Whether a book will help or not, and which one to get depends on how much you know, how involved you want to get, and what tools and ability to use them you have. The best way to go is a factory service manual, but that won't help a beginner, it assumes the user knows a certain amount of stuff first. A haynes or chiltons isn't bad for a beginner, but once you get to a certain point they are only good as toilet paper. I will now go shoot myself for recommending those 2, but for a beginner they and google will be the best place to start.

·
Registered
715 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
Ill check them out