Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently own a 2004 Mustang v6 3.9 liter engine. 40th anniversary series. I currently have done the following to my car.

• Cold air intake
  • Magna Flow Exhaust
  • Super chipped.
I was wondering what I should do to try and hit at least the HP or torque needed to stand par with any v6 our there at the moment.

I was thinking about doing the following:

• Change the gearing
  • Under drive pulley
  • Performance spark plugs
Any ideas what I should do? And Where I could get good deals / the right stuff for my car? I'm a rookie at the car thing I mean I know how to change my oil, brakes, Fluids, Install a Cold air intake, A turbo and stuff But I in a sense want to make this car a sleeper so no Supercharger/Turbo for me. Any body have an idea?

·
Banned
9,216 Posts
Welcome to the parking lot!

i wouldent worry about under drive pulleys.

gears are awsome. go 373 w t loc.

if u got some pockets for gas. go 4.10.

if you ask 4.10 or 3.73 youll get 500,000 different answers. so pick one and pull the trigger!

·
Super Moderator
39,982 Posts
:wavey:waveyWelcome to the site:happydance::happydance:plenty of great info in the V6 tech section,sounds like you are off to a good start.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Cool, so under drive wont do much huh? Hmm Okay.

I'll go with the gears this month then how about the next form of business? Like best v room for my buck ?

I love acceleration.

I do the following,

1st Gear to 2nd 40 MPH
2nd Gear to 3rd 80MPH
3rd Gear to 4Th 105MPH

After that its just slow as a snail.

Is there a way to make the car shoot faster like instead of 40 MPH I go 45 then 85 etc? Or am I screwed?

Side note is it hard to install new gears?

·
Banned
9,216 Posts
udps free up a few hp..but cost so freaking much!