Ford Mustang Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a 64 ford fairlane. I am going to be rebiulding the motor in January and would like to customize it. I am a student so i have somewhat limited finances - around $2,000.... What are some things that i can do to increase HP and get better performance while still having it somewhat practical for daily driving??

·
Registered
9,198 Posts
Hello.Welcome.:)When you say that you will be rebuilding the motor in January, does that mean that you yourself will, with your own hands and tools, be rebuilding it, or that you will be taking it to a shop?The cost of the basic rebuild is going to be something in the 1500 to 2 grand range with someone else doing it.At least, that's about what it would run around here.You could save yourself some money by pulling the motor yourself and taking it straight to the people that are actually going to do all of the machine work and assembly and then sticking it back into the car yourself.A couple of things that you could do to pep it up a little would be to stick a 4 bbl and dual exhaust on the car.Maybe a nice set of roller rockers.Those three should give you a net gain of something in 50 to 60 hp range and wouldn't be terribly expensive.Just having a fresh motor with good compression is going to help out a bunch, depending on how tired your motor really is.Good luck and again, welcome.:)

G

·
Yeah, we also really need to know what machining you're gonna have to do to the motor, because that will also cost more, thus cutting down on your goodies budget. But instead of the roller rockers, I'd get a bit peppier cam and higher stall converter.