Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
813 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just opened my hood for the first time in like 2 months....man, it's filthy under there! Makes me so sad! How do you guys clean the engine? It seems all weird with all that plastic and coverings down there and whatnot.

J

·
0 Posts
I use a re-purposed toilet brush and soapy water to get the dirt off then follow up on the rubber and plastic parts with some kind of foaming tire cleaner. Makes the plastic stuff look new.

G

·
0 Posts
Hey, what's to do in Woodbridge? I'm new to VA and need a little road trip. Any neat attractions? Beaches?

G

·
0 Posts
Hell I checked weekly for about 6 monhts but I only do it once a month but it's never burned a drop so I've learned to trust it.

Sorry, I haven't answered your question;

I wash under the hood like I do the outside, a clean soft cloth and lots of expensive automotive wash stuff from Meguire's and such.

·
Registered
5,377 Posts
My first thought was about oil too. For the answer I just use a spray bottle with a 30% simple green solution spray stuff down with that (engine off) then rinse lightly with a hose. Avoid the obvious things that don't want to get real wet. It's not like the engines don't get wet from road spray (if you drive in the rain). Side note so you can laff at me, had the car 1 year, yesterday was the first time it got rained on...10 minute downpour I'm proud of not wigging out.

edit...Orbit, I would have sprung for a new brush

·
Registered
947 Posts
Hey, what's to do in Woodbridge? I'm new to VA and need a little road trip. Any neat attractions? Beaches?

lmao, hoodridge. There's a Kings Dominion down 95 South. Potomac Mills? :laugh: