Ford Mustang Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the world of muscle car modifications and am wondering how I can boost the overall horsepower, quickness, suspension, etc. of a 2005-2009 mustang GT.

·
Registered
502 Posts
Start with a C & L CAI with a SCT programer and 93 octane race tune from Bama

·
Registered
1,650 Posts
You say dramatically increase so Im assuming you want over 100 horsepower. Save up and get a supercharger. There are a million threads to search that will explain the differences in superchargers and what you can expect from them.

Do yourself a big favor. Ask yourself how much power you want. When you get this power will this be enough for you? You need a gameplan that is well thought out so you dont end up wasting time and money.

·
Registered
9,445 Posts
yep, two words: super charger

or is that one word?

all of the other mods are more like "subtle", not "drastic"

·
Banned
12,436 Posts
yep, supercharger or turbo is really the only practical way...suspension? peruse maximum motorsports

·
Registered
3,827 Posts
Or the less expensive way Cold Air Intake ( CAI ) and a performance tune ( Brenspeed.com ) will give you some of what you desire :yup:

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Is there a difference between a supercharger and turbocharger? How much do they run typically $5000?

·
Registered
1,162 Posts
Supercharger all the way.
See my post in "New owner-2005 mustang GT-throttle lag question" thread. I wish I waited and went this way from day one. having bought my 05 at the end of 04, there just wasn't any dependable supercharger kits available at that time (and I was too impatient to wait). You have the benefit of at least having the supercharger option available.

cheers.

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Like the above posts said, the supercharger/turbo is the only way to go to drastically improve the HP/TQ.